How to Transfer the Ownership of Your Google Contacts?

How to Transfer the Ownership of Your Google Contacts?



There are times when you have to handover your contacts to a team member to delegate your tasks or to the management if you plan on deciding to change the course of your career. No matter what the case is, Shared Contacts for Gmail makes this process extremely easy.

We are exactly going to show you how you can easily transfer the ownership of your Google Contacts, literally, with just a few clicks and keystrokes, in a matter of a couple of minutes.




Before we begin, please follow the steps below to install the Google Chrome extension of Shared Contacts for Gmail. If you already have it installed, then you can skip this part.

Installing Chrome Extension of Shared Contacts for Gmail

  1. Go to the Google Search and type “Shared Contacts for Gmail Chrome Extension” and open the first result.



  1. Please click on “Add to Chrome” to install the chrome extension.



  1. Once installed, it will appear in your extensions’ bar and you will automatically be redirected to Google Contacts page



That’s it, the Chrome extension of Shared Contacts for Gmail is successfully installed.

Transferring Ownership of Your Google Contacts

Before we begin, please make sure to add all/some of your contacts that you want to transfer ownership of into a new label. You can find how to create a contact label in this guide.


If you already have your contacts under contact labels, then please follow the steps below.


  1. Hover over the contact label that you want to transfer ownership of and click on the share button.



  1. In the new popup window, type the email or name of the person who you want to be the new owner of these contacts. When added, click on “Share”.



  1. Now in the permissions section, select “Owner” and save.


It will take a couple of minutes to sync and transfer ownership, but it will be automatic. You can close the window, as you have successfully transferred the ownership of these contacts.

This is how easy Shared Contacts for Gmail makes this and so much more for you!
Interested in knowing how you can give permission to re-share your contacts with your team members, so you don't have to do each time someone new in your team needs access to them? Click here to read how you can do it.
    • Related Articles

    • How to Change the Ownership of a Contact Label in Google Contacts?

      Assigning contacts to someone from your team is often sound time-taking, because the first thought that comes to your mind is to export those contacts, then share the file with that team member and make them import those contacts into their contacts ...
    • How to find your Google Contacts?

      You can find your Google Contacts using any of the following two options. How to find your Google Contacts? Option 1: You can see all of your Google Contacts by clicking here or directly typing contacts.google.com in your web browser. Option 2: ...
    • How to Unshare Contacts that You have Shared with Others?

      Willing to unshare your contacts from an individual or a group who has access to them? There are plenty of reasons why you would want to revoke the access. You may have mistakenly shared the contacts with them or they no longer are the part of your ...
    • How to Export Contact Details When an Employee Leaves the Company?

      Contact details are one of the essentials for any business, no matter if it is leads, vendors, or any other business related contacts. It is often a challenge to get hold of all the contacts that an employee has, especially when they decide to leave ...
    • How to Give Permission to Re-share Contact Labels in Google Contacts?

      You, as the owner of a contact label, certainly understand the hassle to share the contact labels with a new team member each time it needs to be delegated to them. But, we are here to solve this, once and for all! Now, you can easily share the ...