Roles for Collaboration and Sharing

Roles for Collaboration and Sharing

Both sharing with archives and collaborating with members allows users to control accessibility to records and workspaces in an archive via Roles. 

Roles are predetermined sets of permissions that determine the limits of how accounts and archives can interact with records in selected workspaces.

Permanent supports two levels of managed access permissions via roles.
  1. Member level: Permission granted to accounts to the entire contents of a specific archive.
  2. Share levelPermission granted to accounts with access to a specific archive on a specific record.

Roles Matrix

Roles are defined by which actions are allowed or disallowed on records. Learn more about the definition of actions here.
Action
Owner
Manager*
Curator
Editor
Contributor
Viewer
Read
x
x
x
x
x
x
Create
x
x
x
x
x

Upload
x
x
x
x
x

Edit
x
x
x
x


Delete
x
x
x



Move
x
x
x



Share
x
x
x



Publish
x
x




Add Members
x
x



Delete Archive
x





Manager is a role that is only available as a member level, but all other roles have the same meanings/access whether they are used as a member level or a share level.

Ownership

Ownership is a special role that behaves differently for sharing and collaborating. An archive can only have one owner-member but a share can have multiple owner-archives. Only the owner-member can delete an entire archive or transfer ownership of the archive to someone else. 


Example

Archive A shares item X with Archive B and makes Archive B an owner on the share.

If the following accounts are members of Archives A & B with corresponding roles:
  1. Account 1 is owner of Archive A
  2. Account 2 is owner of Archive B
  3. Account 3 is a viewer on Archive A
  4. Account 3 is a curator of Archive B
The resulting access permissions are granted as follows:
  1. Account 1 -> Archive A -> item X: All owner permissions
  2. Account 2 -> Archive B -> item X: All owner permissions
  3. Account 3 -> Archive A -> item X: Viewer permissions
  4. Account 3 -> Archive B -> item X: Curator permissions


    • Related Articles

    • Exclusive Sharing

      Share your files with other Archives while keeping them private from the world. You choose what files or folders you want to share, who you want to share them with and what level of access that Archive should have. You can add, change or remove ...
    • What do the different member access permissions mean?

      Viewer: a member who can only view the files in the folder Contributor: a member who can view and add files Editor: a member who can add files and edit descriptions and titles Curator: a member who can add files, edit descriptions and titles, ...
    • Three Ways to Control Access to Records in Your Archive

      As the owner of an archive, you have three ways to grant access to records in your archive to other people. In order from least restrictive to most restrictive: Publish to the web – choose this option if you want anyone to easily access your records ...
    • Glossary

      Curator Shorthand for an Archive or Account that has been granted Curtator Access. Curator Access to an Archive An Account that has the ability to control, update, and modify the entirety of a Permanent Archive in which they are a Member. Curator ...
    • How to Delete an Archive

      Delete an archive To delete an archive, your account must be the Owner of the archive. If you are not the Owner of the archive that needs to be deleted, log into the correct account, or reach out to the Owner of that archive. You can learn more about ...